Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Doug Carn Trio LP

$ 26.99

 The Doug Carn Trio LP Bundle Includes 1 Test Pressing and 1 copy of the Black and 1 copy of the Clear w/ Black Swirl Variant, Limited to 30 Bundles. 1 PER PERSON/HOUSEHOLD.

The Doug Carn Trio: The Doug Carn Trio (All-Analog Black Vinyl Edition)Regular Variant

The Doug Carn Trio: The Doug Carn Trio (All-Analog Clear W/ Black Swirl Vinyl Edition) Limited to 100 copies 1 PER PERSON/HOUSEHOLD.  

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER. THE ITEM WILL SHIP BEFORE THE 09/06/24 STREET DATE. PLEASE NOTE BY PRE-ORDERING THIS ITEM YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR IT NOW. WHEN ORDERING PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE0 09/06/24  ITEMS ON YOUR ORDER. IF YOU WANT TO ORDER OTHER ITEMS PLEASE ORDER ON ANOTHER ORDER SO THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT DELAYED. Please Note: The industry is experiencing longer turnaround times than usual. Expected shipping dates are based on encountering no unexpected delays due to manufacturing issues or shipping back-ups and are subject to change. Images are mockups and may vary from finished product.

Keyboardist/composer Doug Carn was the biggest star on the legendary Black Jazz Records label, with four releases to his credit (all reissued by us at Real Gone Music), and remains a touchstone for spiritual jazz fans and musicians alike. But very, very few folks have heard his debut record, cut for the venerable Savoy label back in 1969. In fact, it’s so rare that we couldn’t even find a copy to use for artwork, so, with Doug’s help, we enlisted his daughter Eroniffa Ibrahim to create illustrations for our reissue based on the original cover photos. But you know what we did find? That’s right…the original master tapes! So, not only is this the first LP reissue for The Doug Carn Trio, but it’s an all-analog edition to boot, pressed at Gotta Groove Records with their proprietary GrooveCoated stampers to minimize high-frequency loss with each successive pressing. And, we’ve added an insert with liner notes by Aaron Cohen based on an exclusive interview with the man himself. As for the music, it’s a tight organ trio set that starts cooking right from the get-go with a groovin’ cover of Gus Cannon’s “Walk Right In,” which became a folk hit for The Rooftop Singers. Carn’s fluid, forward-thinking playing anticipates Larry Young’s future keyboard forays, and originals like “Butter from the Duck” and “Yna Yna’s Delight” presage the compositional prowess he flashed on the Black Jazz releases (note: that’s Don Hales on guitar, not Gary Starling as credited on the original record). The opening salvo from a scintillating career, finally available again!


1. Walk Right In
2. Butter from the Duck
3. My One and Only Love



1. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child

2. Free Blues
3. Yna Yna’s Delight

Related Products