Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Lonnie Liston Smith Astral Traveling LP

$ 24.98

For his 1973 debut album as a bandleader, Lonnie Liston Smith assembled a killer band of Cecil McBee on bass, George Barron on sax, James Mtume and Sonny Morgan on percussion, David Lee, Jr. on drums, Badal Roy on table, Geeta Vashi on tamboura, and Joe Beck on guitar. Such a multifaceted ensemble was perfectly suited to explore the spiritual jazz that Smith had encountered while playing with Pharoah Sanders  (“Let Us Go into the House of the Lord” appears here and on Sanders’ 1970 album Summun Bukmun Umyunwhich featured Smith), all presided over by Flying Dutchman label owner and former John Coltrane producer Bob Thiele. For its first vinyl pressing since the late ‘70s, we’ve re-created the original gatefold artwork with Nat Hentoff’s liner notes, and pressed up 1000 copies in limited edition blue “eternity” vinyl. One of the great jazz albums of its era!


Side One

1. Astral Traveling
2. Let Us Go into the House of the Lord

3. Rejuvenation

Side Two

1. I Mani (Faith)
2. In Search of Truth

3. Aspirations

Related Products