Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Grateful Dead Road Trips Vol. 1 No. 2 (2CD-Set)

$ 31.99

Spring ’77 shows get the ink, but the Dead’s Fall ’77 tour through some of the lesser-traveled byways of America goes toe to toe with that deservedly legendary series of performances. And by cherry-picking from three October ’77 gigs (10/11/77 in Norman, Oklahoma; 10/14/77 in Houston; 10/16 in Baton Rouge), this Road Trip offers the greatest show that never was. A great, 10-minute rendition of “Let It Grow” from Norman kicks the whole thing off, followed by a 17-minute “Sugaree” from Baton Rouge…and how about that epic, 13-minute version of “Black Peter,” also hailing from the Baton Rouge show (which contributes the lion’s share of the songs here). And for you obsessive Dead Head collectors, the Houston excerpt also captures the last time the “Help on the Way”/”Slipknot!”/”Franklin’s Tower” medley was played for six years. A 16-page booklet featuring notes by Steve Silberman accompanies this “Betty Board” recording, mastered by Jeffrey Norman and presented in HDCD sound. Great performances lifted from superior shows from one of the Dead’s best tours…hard to beat that combo!

Disc One

1. Let It Grow
2. Sugaree
3. The Music Never Stopped
4. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
5. El Paso
6. Help on the Way
7. Slipknot!
8. Franklin’s Tower

Disc Two

1. Playing in the Band
2. Drums
3. The Other One
4. Good Lovin’
5. Terrapin Station
6. Black Peter
7. Around and Around
8. Brokedown Palace
9. Playing in the Band

Related Products