Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Doug Carn Adam's Apple LP

$ 19.99


Doug Carn Adam's Apple (Clear with Black Splatter) LP Real Gone Music Webstore Exclusive LIMITED TO 300 COPIES 

Doug Carn Adam's Apple (Remastered Edition) LP Regular Version

THIS IS A PRE-ORDER. THE ITEM WILL SHIP BEFORE THE 12/03/21 STREET DATE. PLEASE NOTE BY PRE-ORDERING THIS ITEM YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR IT NOW. WHEN ORDERING PLEASE ONLY PURCHASE 12/03/21 ITEMS ON YOUR ORDER. IF YOU WANT TO ORDER OTHER ITEMS PLEASE ORDER ON ANOTHER ORDER SO THOSE ITEMS ARE NOT DELAYED. Please Note: The vinyl industry is experiencing longer turnaround times than usual. Expected shipping dates are based on encountering no unexpected delays due to manufacturing issues or shipping back-ups and are subject to change.

Doug Carn made four records for the Black Jazz label, more than any other artist, and each one topped the previous release's lofty standard. Adam's Apple was his last (1974) album for the label, representing the final note in his staggeringly creative crescendo. It was also the first record without Jean Carn, but Carn and crew (John Conner and Joyce Greene) don't miss a beat on the vocals. And the band is absolutely sick, featuring reedman Ronnie Laws and fellow Black Jazz recording artist Calvin Keys on guitar, and led by Carn's increasingly electronic forays on various keyboards. The result is a record that brings to mind Herbie Hancock's Headhunters, electric Miles, maybe even Earth, Wind, and Fire (Carn covers EW&F's 'Mighty Mighty'), but all overlaid with an uplifting gospel vibe. To quote Pat Thomas' liner notes (which feature extensive quotes from Doug Carn himself), 'Adam's Apple is more energetic, funky, and futuristic than Carn's earlier Black Jazz work. In short, sublime.' Newly remastered and available on CD or vinyl.

Side 1
1. Chant
2. Higher Ground
3. Sweet Season
4. Sanctuary

Side 2
1. Mighty Mighty
2. The Messenger
3. Adam’s Apple
4. To A Wild Rose
5. Western Sunrise

Related Products