Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Doris Day My Heart LP

$ 21.99

By far the most unexpected hit record of 2011 was the 29th and final studio album from an 89 year-old Doris Day. My Heart hit the charts in the U.S. and went all the way up to #9 in the U.K., triumphantly capping a legendary singing and acting career. But this record and its chart success was, if you'll excuse the pun, no mere sentimental journey. The heart of My Heart is a series of songs recorded by Doris in the mid-'80s as background for scenes featuring her with various animals on the Doris Day's Best Friends television show, many of them written by her son, Terry Melcher, whose production credits, of course, include The Byrds and Beach Boys. Melcher also lends a bravura vocal turn to 'Happy Endings' and is the subject of a heartfelt preamble by Doris on 'My Buddy.' And without question Terry's influence lay behind her superb, jaunty cover of the Lovin' Spoonful's 'Daydream.' In short, My Heart was a touching, tuneful love letter from Doris to her deceased son; and now, in honor of her centennial, we're bringing it to LP for the first time, remastered for vinyl by Mike MIlchner at Sonic Vision, and pressed in green vinyl complete with an insert featuring liner notes. A beautiful record from a beautiful lady.

Side One
1. Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here
2. Daydream
3. The Way I Dreamed It
4. Heaven Tonight
5. My One & Only Love (Doris Day with Andre Previn)
6. My Heart
7. You Are So Beautiful

Side Two
1. Life Is Just a Bowl of Cherries
2. Disney Girls
3. Stewball
4. My Buddy (Doris Day with Paul Weston & His Orchestra)
5. Happy Endings (Terry Melcher with Introduction by Doris Day)
6. Ohio

Related Products