Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Robert Shaw Chorale Christmas Hymns and Carols Volume II

$ 13.98

The Robert Shaw Chorale: Christmas Hymns and Carols Volume II. CD 

Fred Waring Protégé Robert Shaw Led the Most Popular Professional Choir in the United States During the ‘50s


The Robert Shaw Chorale’s Two Holiday Albums, Christmas Hymns and Carols Volumes I & II, Rank as Two of the Greatest Choral Christmas Records
Ever Made

Last Year Real Gone Music Released Volume I to Great Acclaim; This Year We Are Releasing Volume II, Which Features Less Familiar Carols Drawn Largely from European Songbooks

Beautifully Recorded and Arranged by Robert Shaw and His Long-Time Collaborator, Alice Parker

1952 Release Presented in Its Original Mono

Includes Original and Reissue Album Art

Liner Notes by Sean Cogan

Remastered by Maria Triana at Battery Studios in New York

CD Debut of a Choral Christmas Masterpiece

We released Volume I of the Robert Shaw Chorale’s Christmas Hymns and Carols to rapturous response from lovers of Christmas music everywhere, so following it up with Volume II was a natural. Indeed, this second volume of Christmas carols—presented, like on its predecessor, in a series of medleys—perfectly complements the first volume by casting its eye a bit farther afield in search of repertoire suited for the brilliant arrangements of Fred Waring protégé Shaw and his longtime collaborator, Alice Parker. So, instead of the well-worn “O Come All Ye Faithful”/”The First Nowell”/”O Little Town of Bethlehem” medley that led off Volume I, here a medley of “I Saw Three Ships”/”O Tannenbaum”/”Allon, Gay Gay Bergeres”/”The Holly and the Ivy” leads off, followed by “Fum, Fum, Fum”/”Hacia Belén”/”Ya Viene La Vieja”/”La Virgen Lava Pañales,” and more relatively unfamiliar fare, all flawlessly and fervently rendered by The Chorale. Though this 1952 record was meant as a follow-up to Volume I, and, unlike that album, did not enjoy a stereo re-recording later in the decade (it was reissued in mono with new album art in 1957; the stereo version of Volume I is the version we reissued in 2016), it more than holds its own against its forebear; and, since that record is generally reckoned among the greatest Christmas albums of all time, this one would rank right up there, too. Includes the original and reissue album art, with liner notes by Sean Cogan; Maria Triana’s remastering at Battery Studios in New York lends a little holiday luster to every note. CD debut of a Christmas choral masterpiece!

  1. I Saw Three Ships/O Tannenbaum/Allon, Gay Gay Bergeres/The Holly and the Ivy

  2. Fum, Fum, Fum/Hacia Belén/Ya Viene La Vieja/La Virgen Lava Pañales
  3. The Cherry Tree Carol/Mary Had a Baby/So Blest a Sight
  4. How Unto Bethlehem/A Virgin Unspotted/The Twelve Days of Christmas
  5. Good King Wenceslas/The Boar's Head Carol/Christ Was Born on Christmas Day/How Far Is It to Bethlehem
  6. March of the Kings/Here, Mid the Ass and Oxen Mild/Touro-Louro-Louro
  7. Carol of the Birds/O Magnum Mysterium
  8. What Child Is This/Masters in This Hall/ Break Forth, O Beauteous, Heavenly Light

Related Products