Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Rod McKuen New Carols for Christmas CD

$ 12.98

Poet/Singer/Songwriter/Performer Rod McKuen Was One of the True Renaissance Men of the ‘60s and ‘70s

McKuen Recorded a Number of Albums for Warner Bros., but His Disarmingly Personal Recordings for His Own Stanyan Label Are Among His Most Treasured

Of Those Stanyan Records, 1971’s New Carols of Christmas—The Rod McKuen Christmas Album Is One of His Gems

All but One Track Recorded on December 6, 1970 at Chappel Studios in London with Members of the Westminster Symphony Orchestra

Offers Rod’s Trademark Blend of Poetry, Song, and Beautiful Instrumental Passages on Such Songs as “Bethlehem B.C.”

Expanded Edition Features a Great Duet Between Rod and Petula Clark on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

Other Highlights Include “So My Sheep May Safely Graze,” Which Tells the Story of the Birth of the Good Shepherd; and the Upbeat, Uplifting “Here He Comes Again”

Writing Partners Include Rod’s Long-Time Collaborator Anita Kerr, Art Podell of The New Christy Minstrels, and Electronic Music Pioneer Mort Garson

Liner Notes by McKuen Biographer Barry Alfonso

Rare Period Photos Along with Original Gatefold Art

Only Briefly Available on CD and Out of Print for Over 20 Years

Originally released in 1971 on Rod McKuen’s own Stanyan label, and available on CD for only a brief time in the mid-‘90s, New Carols of Christmas—The Rod McKuen Christmas Album offers the poet/singer/songwriter’s trademark blend of spoken word and song, with songwriting assistance from Rod’s long-time artistic partner Anita Kerr on three of the tracks (The New Christy Minstrels’ Art Podell and electronic music pioneer Mort Garson are his other collaborators). Recorded save for one track on December 6, 1970 at Chappel Studios in London, and featuring members of The Westminster Symphony Orchestra, New Carols offers such highlights as “Bethlehem B.C.,” which begins with a spoken word interlude followed by a really beautiful instrumental passage; “So My Sheep May Safely Graze,”which tells the story of the birth of the Good Shepherd; and the upbeat, uplifting “Here He Comes Again.” We’ve enlisted Rod’s biographer Barry Alfonso to write the liner notes, and added some photos to the original gatefold album art. Celebrate the season this year with the late, great Rod McKuen!

1. The Carols of Christmas
2. So My Sheep May Safely Graze
3. Thank You for Christmas
4. And to Each Season (A Fugue for 
Pachelbel’s Canon in G)
5. Here He Comes Again
6. The Snows of Amsterdam
7. Spend This Holiday with Me
8. The Day After Christmas
9. When Winter Comes
10. So Long, Stay Well
11. Simple Gifts
12. As We Traveled Through Vermont

13. Bethlehem, B.C.
14. A Hand to Hold at Christmas
15. Who Knows Where We’re Going

Bonus Track
16. Baby, It’s Cold Outside 
(Rod McKuen & Petula Clark)

Related Products