Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Vikki Carr First Time Ever CD

$ 19.98

VIKKI CARR: The First Time Ever (I Saw Your Face) (Expanded Edition) CD

She was born Florencia Bisenta de Casillas Martinez Cardona in El Paso, Texas, but the world would know her better as Vikki Carr, the four-time Grammy-winner whom no less an authority than Dean Martin once called “The best girl singer in the business” and Ethel Merman singled out as being “more impressed with her performance than by any young singer.”

Sentimental, vivacious and stunningly dramatic, the voice of Vikki Carr is one of American pop music’s most versatile, too.  During her long, glittering career, she has tackled jazz, pop, blues and country with equal aplomb. In addition to her extraordinary American pop music career of the 1960s and early ‘70s, punctuated by such signature hits as “It Must Be Him,” “The Lesson,” “With Pen in Hand” and “Eternity,” Carr has gone on to become one of the most popular and successful Spanish-language singers in the world, a pioneer predating Linda Ronstadt and an acolyte of Eydie Gorme’s and Connie Francis’ beloved international music tradition.  

We at Real Gone Music are thrilled to add Vikki to our  artist roster with The First Time Ever (I Saw Your Face) (Expanded Edition), a first time ever reissue of her classic 1972 album produced by Snuff Garrett and arranged by Al Capps. The release features no less than nine bonus tracks (seven singles and a pair of holiday favorites) highlighted by Vikki’s long-unavailable hit version of “The Big Hurt” and captivating covers of numerous ‘70s smashes, with notes by David St. Mark drawn from an extensive interview with the artist herself as well as her colleagues.   Mastered at Sony’s own Battery Studios in NYC by Sean Brennan and featuring copious rare photos—one of this year’s big pop vocal finds!


1. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face 

2. (Last Night) I Didn't Get To Sleep At All

3. Theme from Summer of '42

4. Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves

5. Without You

6. Song Sung Blue

7. Love Theme from The Godfather

8. Cabaret 

9. Help Me Make It Through The Night

10. Brian's Song 

11. The Way of Love 

Bonus Tracks

12. Call My Heart Your Home

13. The Big Hurt

14. Let The Band Play On

15. Reflections 

16. Borrowed Time

17. Puttin' Myself In Your Hands  

18. I Don't Want A Sometimes Man 

19. What Child Is This 

20. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear

Related Products