Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Tower of Power (2CD Set)

$ 49.98

TOWER OF POWER: Hipper Than Hip (Yesterday, Today, & Tomorrow)—Live on the Air & in the Studio 1974 (2-CD Set)

  • Tower of Power, the Legendary R&B/Funk Horn Section and Band out of Oakland, CA, Is Celebrating Its 45th Anniversary in 2013 

  • Hipper than Hip (Yesterday, Today, & Tomorrow): Live on the Air & in the Studio 1974 isaMajorAdditiontotheTowerofPower Discography, an Unreleased, Live-in-the-Studio Broadcast from WLIR in Long Island on May 14, 1974 

  • The 2-CD Set Captures the Band at an Artistic and Commercial Peak, Fresh from Releasing the Album Back to Oakland 

  • Includes Such Classic, Early ToP Cuts as "You're Still a Young Man," "Down to the Nightclub," "So Very Hard to Go," "Time Will Tell" and "What Is Hip?" 

  • Features Lenny Williams on Vocals 

  • Combines the Exceptional Fidelity of a Studio Album with the Intensity of a Live Performance 

  • Liner Notes by Noted R&B Producer Leo Sacks, Featuring Quotes from Band Founder and Leader Emilio Castillo 

  • Added Photos 

  • Fully Authorized by Tower of Power 

On May 14, 1974, Tower of Power went to radio station WLIR in Hempstead, Long Island and played a live-in-the-studio show that set the station ablaze as well as the radios of any listeners that were lucky enough to hear it.

Flash forward nearly 40 years. On a whim, a tape collector sends us the show, saying that of his 10,000-plus recordings of live concerts, this set was his favorite. Well, people send us stuff all the time; but within about five minutes of listening to this show, we know we HAVE to find a way to expose the record-buying public to this performance. So, fingers crossed, we send it to the band, and much to our delight, they agree with us. In the words of Emilio Castillo, founding member and leader of Tower of Power: “We were clearly at the top of our game firing on all 10 cylinders."

Indeed, Hipper Than Hip captures the band at their commercial peak, fresh from releasing their fourth album, Back to Oakland, and featuring such key early tracks as “You’re Still a Young Man,” “Down to the Nightclub,” “So Very Hard to Go,” “Time Will Tell” and, of course, “What Is Hip?” with Lenny Williams on vocals. What makes the recording particularly overpowering—aside from the band’s performance, which is so on the money that calling it “tight” doesn’t really do it justice—is that it was a live-in-the-studio session, so the fidelity is the equal of a studio recording, yet it has all the passion and immediacy of a live concert.

Our Real Gone Music release includes photos and liner notes by noted R&B producer, scholar—and long-time friend of the band—Leo Sacks. 2013 marks the 45th anniversary for Tower of Power—Hipper Than Hip (Yesterday, Today, & Tomorrow—Live on the Air & in the Studio 1974 marks a major addition to the band’s discography.


  1. Intro 
  2. Oakland Stroke 
  3. Squib Cakes 
  4. This Time It's Real 
  5. Soul Vaccination 
  6. You're Still a Young Man 
  7. Clean Slate 
  8. So Very Hard to Go 
  9. Get Your Feet Back on the Ground 


  1. Intro 
  2. Time Will Tell 
  3. Man from the Past 
  4. Down to the Nightclub 
  5. Just When We Start Makin' It 
  6. Knock Yourself Out 
  7. What Is Hip


Related Products