Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Red Bird Girls (Jewel Case Version)

$ 17.98

—Founded by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, and run by George Goldner, Red Bird Was the Ultimate Girl Group Label

The Red Bird Girls—Very First Time in True Stereo Features 20 Stereo Debuts Taken Straight from the Original Red Bird Master Tapes

—Features a Newly Discovered Track Written by Ellie Greenwich

—Also Includes an Early Version of “The Boy from New York City” by The Ad Libs a.k.a. The Cheerio’s and “Go Now” by Bessie Banks

—Remastered by Ron Furmanek

—16-Page Booklet Packed with Photos

—Liner Notes Include Interviews with Janis Siegel, Evie Sands, Brooks Arthur and Other Notables

—Now Available in a Lower-Priced, Jewel Case Edition

VARIOUS ARTISTS: The Red Bird Girls—Very First Time in True Stereo (Jewel Case Version). CD

20 tracks discovered deep in the vaults of the Red Bird label, every one of which makes its true stereo debut on this collection! Founded in 1964 by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, and run by George Goldner, Red Bird is considered to this day as the girl group label of the ‘60s, and this collection—produced by long-time archivist and engineer Ron Furmanek together with Ash Wells and annotated by James Moniz—features the biggest stars on the label roster, and sources its first-time stereo mixes straight from the original master tapes. Among the most notable tracks are Call Me His, a totally unknown and unreleased recording from the great Ellie Greenwich written by a neophyte songwriter named Neil Diamond; an early, unreleased version of The Boy from New York City, recorded by the Ad-Libs back when they were known as The Cheerio’s; Go Now by Bessie Banks, a song that became a big hit for The Moody Blues a year later, and I Can’t Let Go by Evie Sands, which, similarly, became a hit for the Hollies; I Wanna Love Him So Bad by The Jelly Beans featuring a rare lead vocal from Alma Brewer, and The Young Generation’s The Hideaway featuring a very young Janis Siegel before she became a superstar with Manhattan Transfer. Meticulously documented inside a 16-page booklet boasting copious photos and interviews with Siegel, Sands and songwriter/producer Brooks Arthur among many others, The Red Bird Girls—Very First Time in True Stereo sheds a new light on the genius artists, songwriters and producers that recorded for the Red Bird label, and displays their work in all its sonic stereo glory. Now out in a lower-priced jewel case version!


1. The Dum Dum Ditty – The Goodies

2. The Boy From New York City – The Ad-Libs (Prev. Unreleased Alt. Version)


3. The Kind of Boy You Can’t Forget – The Jelly Beans


4. Go Now – Bessie Banks

 5. You Don’t Know – Ellie Greenwich


6. I Can’t Let Go – Evie Sands


7. He’s So Easy To Love – Roddy Joy

 8. I Know He Loves Me – Chi Chi McCauley   


9. No True Love-The Dixie Cups


10. I'm Just A Down Home Girl – The Ad-Libs


11. I Wonder – The Butterflys


12.  I Wanna Love Him So Bad – The Jelly Beans (Prev. Unreleased Alt. Version)


13.  Another Boy Like Mine – Ellie Greenwich


14. Take Me For A Little While – Evie Sands


15. Welcome To My Heart – The Bouquets


16. The Hideaway – The Young Generation


17. Sugar Boy-The Charmettes

18. Gee Baby Gee- The Butterflys


19. How Fine Can One Guy Be – The Jelly Beans

 20. Call Me His – Ellie Greenwich  (Prev. Unreleased)


Related Products