Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Meters A Message from The Meters (2-CD Set)

$ 21.98

  • The Meters—Joseph “Zigaboo” Modeliste, Art and (Later) Cyril Neville, Leo Nocentelli, and George Porter, Jr.—Were Arguably the World’s Greatest Funk Band During the Late ‘60s and ‘70s 

  • Their Recordings for the Josie, Reprise and Warner Bros. Labels Laid the Foundation for New Orleans Funk 

  • Now, Real Gone Music Presents, for the First Time Ever, a Collection of Their Classic, Groundbreaking Singles for All Three Labels 

  • Includes Rare Mono Single Mixes for the Josie Sides and Stereo Single Mixes for the Reprise and Warner Bros. Sides 

  • All but Five Tracks from Original Tape Sources 

  • Features Such Legendary Tracks as “Sophisticated Cissy,” “Cissy Strut,” “Look- Ka Py Py,” “Chicken Strut,” “Hand Clapping Song,” and “Hey Pocky A-Way” 

  • All but Two Tracks Co-Produced by the Late, Legendary Allen Toussaint 

  • Liner Notes by Bill Dahl Include Quotes from Nocentelli, Art Neville, and Porter 

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision 

  • 40 Soulful and Ever-So-Funky Sides 

  • The Best Meters Retrospective to Date 

How would you like to hear a new side—or should we say sides—of the world’s greatest funk band? This 40-track set presents the A and B-side of every single that organist Art Neville, guitarist Leo Nocentelli, bassist George Porter, Jr., and drummer Joseph “Zigaboo” Modeliste cut for the Josie, Reprise & Warner Bros. label, virtually their entire singles output save for a few odds ‘n’ ends issued mostly overseas. That means that you not only get every hit along with its hard-to-find B-side but also the rare single mixes, including the especially rare original mono single mixes of the 1968-1971 Josie sides, very few of which have appeared on CD (the first CD is all mono; the second, featuring the later Reprise and Warner Bros. singles, presents all stereo single mixes). These songs represent the mother lode of New Orleans funk, classic tracks like “Sophisticated Cissy,” “Cissy Strut,” “Look-Ka Py Py,” “Chicken Strut,” “Hand Clapping Song,” “Hey Pocky A-Way,” and more, all but two co-produced by the late, legendary Allen Toussaint. And, with liner notes by Bill Dahl featuring quotes from Nocentelli, Neville, and Porter, this 2-CD set offers probably the best retrospective to date of this enormously influential band. And how’s the sound? Well, after extensive and exhaustive tape research, we were able to come up with original tape sources for all but five of these single sides, and the remastering—by Mike Milchner at SonicVision—is tight! Just maybe the year’s most indispensable R&B release.

DISC ONE—The Josie Singles

1. Sophisticated Cissy

2. Sehorns Farms

3. Cissy Strut

4. Here Comes the Meter Man

5. Ease Back

6. Ann

7. Dry Spell

8. Little Old Money Maker

9. Look-Ka Py Py

10. This Is My Last Affair 

11. Chicken Strut 

12. Hey! Last Minute 

13. Hand Clapping Song 

14. Joog 

15. A Message from the Meters 

16. Zony Mash 

17. Stretch Your Rubber Band 

18. Groovy Lady 

19. (The World Is a Bit under the Weather) 

20. INeedMoreTime 

21. Good Old Funky Music 

22. SassyLady 

The Reprise & Warner Bros. Singles

1. Do the Dirt

2. Smiling

3. Cabbage Alley

4. The Flower

5. Chug-Chug-Chug-A-Lug 
(Push ‘N’ Shove) Part I

6. Chug-Chug-Chug-A-Lug (Push ‘N’ Shove) Part II

7. Hey Pocky A-Way

8. Africa

9. People Say

10. Loving You Is on My Mind

11. They All Ask’d for You 

12. Running Fast (Long Version) 

13. Disco Is the Thing Today 

14. Mr. Moon 

15. Trick Bag 

16. Find Yourself 

17. Be My Lady 

18. No More Okey Doke

Related Products