Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Mamas and the Papas The Complete Singles (2CD Set)

$ 26.98

With the debut of their first hit, “California Dreamin’,” on the charts, The Mamas and the Papas proclaimed themselves to be a potent new force in the burgeoning West Coast folk-rock movement, announcing to the world that something special and beautiful was happening in California. Now, 50 years to the day after “California Dreamin’” entered the Billboard Hot 100 on January 8, 1966, Real Gone Music is celebrating this very special anniversary by releasing The Mamas and the Papas: The Complete Singles—The 50th Anniversary Collectiona two-CD, 53-track set that includes for the first time ever the A and B side of every single the group released, all in their impossible-to-find-on-CD original mono single mixes. But this one-of-a-kind collection—which is remastered by Aaron Kannowski, the engineer responsible for Real Gone’s acclaimed collections of singles by fellow Dunhill label acts The Grass Roots and Steppenwolf—doesn’t stop with The Mamas and the Papas’ singles; it also includes the solo single sides that group members Mama Cass Elliot, Denny Doherty and John Phillips cut for the Dunhill and ABC labels, again in their rare, original single mixes.  Co-Producer Ed Osborne’s notes feature quotes drawn from extended interviews with Mama Michelle Phillips and Dunhill label head and producer Lou Adler, while the package also includes a number of rarely-seen images of this eminently photographable band. Many of the solo singles and B-sides have never been on CD, let alone in their single mixes; plus, over the course of listening to this set (which clocks in at over 150 minutes) you’re going to hear such legendary songs as “Monday, Monday,” “California Dreamin’,” “Creeque Alley,” “I Saw Her Again,” “Words of Love,” “Dream a Little Dream of Me,” “Glad to Be Unhappy,” “Dedicated to the One I Love,” and “It’s Getting Better” exactly as folks heard them over the radio back in those halcyon days. Due to the unfortunate situation with the Dunhill single master tape reels (supposedly thrown out at the behest of one of the label’s owners), Mamas and Papas fans had despaired of ever hearing the group’s original singles on CD. Now, after countless hours spent tracking down sources, Real Gone Music is proud to release the most significant addition to The Mamas and the Papas discography in years!


Disc One

1. Go Where You Wanna Go

2. Somebody Groovy

3. California Dreamin’

4. Monday, Monday

5. Got a Feelin’

6. I Saw Her Again

7. Even If I Could

8. Look Through My Window

9. Once Was a Time I Thought

10. Words of Love

11. Dancing in the Street

12. Dedicated to the One I Love

13. Free Advice

14. Creeque Alley

15. Did You Ever Want to Cry

16. Twelve Thirty (Young Girls Are Coming)

17. Straight Shooter

18. Glad to Be Unhappy

19. Hey Girl

20. Dancing Bear

21. John’s Music Box

22. Safe in My Garden

23. Too Late

24. Dream a Little Dream of Me

25. Midnight Voyage

26. For the Love of Ivy

27. Strange Young Girls 

Disc Two

1. Do You Wanna Dance

2. My Girl

3. Step Out

4. Shooting Star

5. California Earthquake (Mama Cass)

6. Talkin’ to Your Toothbrush (Mama Cass)

7. Move In a Little Closer, Baby (Mama Cass)

8. All for Me (Mama Cass)

9. It’s Getting Better (Mama Cass)

10. Who’s to Blame (Mama Cass)

11. Make Your Own Kind of Music (Mama Cass Elliot)

12. Lady Love (Mama Cass Elliot)

13. New World Coming (Mama Cass Elliot)

14. Blow Me a Kiss (Mama Cass Elliott)

15. A Song That Never Comes (Mama Cass Elliot)

16. I Can Dream, Can’t I (Mama Cass Elliot)

17. The Good Times Are Coming (Mama Cass Elliot)

18. Welcome to the World (Mama Cass)

19. Don’t Let the Good Life Pass You By (Mama Cass Elliot)

20. The Costume Ball (Mama Cass Elliot)

21. Mississippi (John Phillips)

22. April Anne (John Phillips)

23. Watcha Gonna Do (Denny Doherty)

24. Gathering the Words (Denny Doherty)

25. To Claudia on Thursday (Denny Doherty)

26. Tuesday Morning (Denny Doherty)

Related Products