Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Isley Brothers Groove with You...Live CD

$ 24.99

  • Groove with You... Live Is the Great Lost Isley Brothers Album 

  • In 1980, Ronald, Rudolph, O’Kelly, Ernie and Marvin Isley and Chris Jasper Decided to Follow in the Footsteps of The Commodores, Parliament, and Earth Wind & Fire and Record a Live Album 

  • Rather Than Bring a Mobile Truck to a Concert Venue, However, The Isley Brothers Chose to Cut Groove with You...Live! at Bearsville Sound Studio in Woodstock, New York 

  • The Result Was a Double Live Album with All the Fire of a Live Performance but with the Fidelity of a Studio Album 

  • The Band Overdubbed Audience Reaction and an Enthusiastic Intro by “Gorgeous” George Odell 

  • However, The T-Neck Label Chose to Shelve the Record in Favor of Another Studio Album

  • The Album Only Saw Release in Limited Fashion on Vinyl for 2015 Record Store Day

  • CD Debut 

  • Features Hits Like “Take Me to the Next Phase,” “Summer Breeze,” “Livin’ in the Life,” and

    “That Lady” 

  • Remastered by Mark Wilder and Chris LeMonde 

  • New Liner Notes by Joe Marchese Featuring Quotes from Ernie Isley and Chris Jasper

  • A Real Gone Music/The Second Disc Release 

“The Great Lost Isley Brothers Album” is coming to CD from Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records! In 1980, Ronald, Rudolph, O’Kelly, Ernie and Marvin Isley and Chris Jasper were riding high with their electrifying fusion of rock, funk and soul. After having transformed in 1973 from a three-man vocal group to a self-contained six-man band, The Isleys cranked out hit after hit: original powerhouses like “That Lady,” “Fight the Power,” and “For the Love of You,” and dramatic covers of pop songs introduced by Seals and Crofts, Carole King, and Todd Rundgren. “Don’t Say Goodnight (It’s Time for Love)” had given the Isleys their longest stay atop the R&B charts since 1969’s “It’s Your Thing,” and savoring its success, they decided to follow in the footsteps of The Commodores, Parliament, and Earth Wind & Fire to record a live album. Rather than bring a mobile truck to a concert venue, however, The Isley Brothers chose to cut Groove with You…Live! at Bearsville Sound Studio in Woodstock, New York. The resulting recordings had all of the incendiary thrills of a live performance, but with pristine studio fidelity. The band overdubbed an audience’s frenzied reception and the energetic introduction of MC “Gorgeous” George Odell to create an in-studio live album as captivating as the real thing. It was presented to CBS for release on the band’s T-Neck imprint, but the label opted to wait for an original studio record. Groove with You…Live! was shelved. Fast forward to 2015, and the Bearsville sessions were remixed, sans crowd ambiance, for inclusion as one disc of a massive Isleys CD box set. Later that year, Groove with You…Live! was restored and released in its originally-intended “live” version on limited edition vinyl. Now, this sizzling, swooning and immersive double-album document of The Isleys at the peak of their powers comes to CD for the very first time as The Isley Brothers originally intended it! Featuring classic hits like “Take Me to the Next Phase,” “Summer Breeze,” and “Livin’ in the Life,” Groove with You…Live! has been remastered by Mark Wilder and Chris Le Monde and features new liner notes from The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese with quotes from Ernie Isley and Chris Jasper. This must-have for fans of R&B, soul, funk and rock will, without a doubt, make you want to shout!

1. Introduction

2. That Lady

3. Here We Go Again

4. Don’t Say Goodnight (It’s Time for Love)

5. Medley: Hello It’s Me/Footsteps in the Dark/For the Love of You

6. Take Me to the Next Phase

7. Fight the Power

8. Groove with You

9. Summer Breeze

10. Say You Will

11. Voyage to Atlantis

12. It’s a Disco Night (Rock Don’t Stop) 

13. Band Introductions

14. Livin’ in the Life/Go for Your Guns 

15. Outro 

Related Products