Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Grass Roots CD

$ 14.99

The Grass Roots were, without a doubt, one of the great singles bands of the ‘60s and early ‘70s. So, why hasn’t a collection of their complete, original Dunhill/ABC hit singles ever been released? Well, there’s the little matter of the original mono master tapes. There are various stories about what happened, including one with Dunhill head Jay Lasker pitching all the label’s multi-track recordings and mono masters after having deemed them obsolete.  And so the classic hit singles by the Grass Roots have for the most part only surfaced in their stereo album versions on the various anthologies of the band. But when the going gets tough for a reissue label, Real Gone Music gets going.  After a worldwide search for the best sources available, we are thrilled to announce that we have rounded up all two dozen Dunhill/ABC hit singles (including the censored and uncensored versions of “Let’s Live for Today” and their biggest smash, “Midnight Confessions”) and put them together into one AMAZING-sounding package! Indeed, this collection offers the truest essence of the band—those hook-filled singles in that glorious, original mono sound mixed and mastered to punch through ‘60s and ‘70s AM radio. And, by covering the years 1965 to 1973, The Grass Roots: The Complete Original Dunhill/ABC Hit Singles also provides a fantastic overview of the group’s tangled history and many line-ups—all meticulously explained by Ed Osborne’s liner notes—with late lead singer Rob Grill the closest to a career-long member (their first two singles featured Bill Fulton on vocals). It’s the Grass Roots collection that we’ve ALL been waiting for, yours from Real Gone!


  1. Mr. Jones (Ballad of a Thin Man)
  2. Where Were You When I Needed You
  3. Only When You’re Lonely
  4. Let’s Live for Today (Uncensored Version)
  5. Let’s Live for Today (Censored Version)
  6. Things I Should Have Said
  7. Wake Up, Wake Up
  8. A Melody for You
  9. Midnight Confessions
  10. Bella Linda
  11. Lovin’ Things
  12. The River Is Wide
  13. I’d Wait a Million Years
  14. Heaven Knows
  15. Walking Through the Country
  16. Baby Hold On
  17. Come On and Say It
  18. Temptation Eyes
  19. Sooner or Later
  20. Two Divided by Love
  21. Glory Bound
  22. The Runway
  23. Anyway the Wind Blows
  24. Love Is What You Make It

Related Products