Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

The Electric Prunes CD

$ 14.98

Though the Electric Prunes were responsible for some of the boldest and most experimental pop of the late ‘60s, they always were, more than just about any band of their ilk, a singles-oriented act, at least in their earliest incarnation. In fact, according to vocalist James Lowe, the engineers at American Recording, where many of their early singles were recorded, used to transmit the single mixes to a radio in a car parked outside the studio to make sure the songs sounded good in the medium through which most people would hear them. As a result, the Prunes singles were punchier than their album counterparts, and were, above all, mono—yet to date, no legitimate collection has ever compiled these singles, many of which have never been on CD in their original mix. Now, for the first time, Real Gone Music has assembled all 23 of their original single sides for Reprise, which span several band line-ups and several legendary producers (Dave Hassinger, David Axelrod) with very different visions, yet remain of remarkably consistent high quality.  Richie Unterberger’s notes include track commentary from the band and shots of the original singles themselves. Special bonus: the band’s demonstration of the Vox Wah-Wah Pedal!


  1. Ain’t It Hard
  2. Little Olive
  3. I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night)
  4. Luvin’
  5. Get Me to the World on Time
  6. Are You Lovin’ Me More
  7. Dr. Do-Good
  8. Hideaway
  9. The Great Banana Hoax
  10. Wind-Up Toys
  11. Everybody Knows You’re Not in Love
  12. You’ve Never Had It Better
  13. Sanctus
  14. Credo
  15. Shadows
  16. Help us (Our Father, Our King)
  17. The Adoration
  18. Hey, Mr. President
  19. Flowing Smoothly
  20. Violent Rose
  21. Sell
  22. Love Grows
  23. Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers
  24. Vox Wah-Wah Foot Pedal

Related Products