The Dictators Go Girl Crazy! 40th Anniversary CD

$ 18.98

AUTOGRAPHED COPIES ARE NOW SOLD OUT but the regular version is still available. 

—Andy “Adny” Shernoff, Scott “Top Ten” Kempner, Ross “The Boss” Friedman a.k.a. FUNichello, Stu Boy King, and Handsome Dick Manitoba were The Dictators, One of New York’s Earliest—and Best—Punk Rock Bands

—Their 1975 Album The Dictators Go Girl Crazy! Is Today Considered One of the Greatest Proto-Punk Records Ever Made

—Real Gone Music Is Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of This Classic Album with a Deluxe, Newly Remastered Version

The Dictators Go Girl Crazy! 40th Anniversary Remastered & Expanded Edition Presents the First Remastering (by Mike Piacentini at Battery Studios) of the Original Album Since Its Initial Release on CD in 1990

—Two of the Bonus Tracks Are Go Girl Crazy! Songs That Have Been “Remixed, Over-Produced and Totally Ruined Reimagined” by Long-Time Dictators Fan, Professional Party Animal and Metal/Punk Rock Singer-Songwriter-Producer Andrew W.K.

—The Other Seven Bonus Tracks Are Rare and/or Unreleased Outtakes from the Go Girl Crazy! Album Featuring a Newly Discovered Song, “Backseat Boogie”

—Also Includes the Unreleased Single Mix of “(I Live for) Cars and Girls”

—Liner Notes by Dictators Songwriter, Lead Vocalist and Bassist Andy Shernoff

—Rare Images from the Vault Including the Actual Tape Boxes Included

—Released with the Full Support of The Dictators and Andrew W.K.

—The Key Link Between Early ‘70s Acts Like the Stooges and New York Dolls and the Late-‘70s Punk Movement

The Dictators: The Dictators Go Girl Crazy! 40th Anniversary Remastered & Expanded Edition. CD

It’s been 40 years since Andy “Adny” Shernoff, Scott “Top Ten” Kempner, Ross “The Boss” Friedman a.k.a. FUNichello, Stu Boy King, and Handsome Dick Manitoba released the Dictators’ debut Go Girl Crazy! Album and created the loud, fast, and snotty template that thousands of punk bands to come slavishly followed. And now the boys are ready to celebrate their anniversary in style, with help from a very special friend. Not only does this 40th Anniversary edition feature a fresh remastering (by Mike Piacentini at Battery Studios in NYC) of the original album for the first time since it was released on CD way back in 1990, but long-time fan, professional party animal and metal/punk singer-songwriter-producer Andrew W.K. took the original album session tapes to two of the songs from the album and, as he puts it ever so modestly, “remixed, over-produced and totally ruined reimagined” them to create sonically stunning brand new versions of ““Two Tub Man” and “Weekend!” But wait! There’s more—a lot more! For in the course of reviewing tapes for this project, Sony Legacy producer Timothy J. Smith also located a reel of unreleased session outtakes including a completely previously unknown recording that never made it to the album, “Backseat Boogie,” which we’ve included along with five other rare and/or unreleased alternate takes plus the single version of “(I Live for) Cars and Girls” that never came out. Dictators songwriter Andy Shernoff contributes liner notes, and we’ve dug some unseen images out of the Epic label vaults that show off the band’s inimitable style (plus shots of the actual tape boxes)! The Dictators Go Girl Crazy! is an absolutely seminal proto-punk album, the key link between early-‘70s outfits like the Stooges and New York Dolls and groups like The Ramones and Damned that came later in the decade. Real Gone Music is proud to celebrate the album’s 40th anniversary with The Dictators and Andrew W.K.!


1. The Next Big Thing

2. I Got You Babe

3. Back To Africa

4. Master Race Rock

5. Teengenerate

6. California Sun

7. Two Tub Man

8. Weekend

9. (I Live for) Cars And Girls


Remixed, over-produced, and totally ruined reimagined by Andrew W.K.!

10. Two Tub Man

11. Weekend

‘Go Girl Crazy!’ Session Outtakes (1974)

12. Backseat Boogie (Take 1)

13. The Next Big Thing (Alt. Take – Take 1)

14. I Got You Babe (Alt. Take w. Vocal – Take 2)

15. Master Race Rock (Instrumental)

16. Teengenerate (Alt. Take w. Vocal)

17. California Sun (Instrumental – Take 4)

18. (I Live For) Cars & Girls (Single Remix)

Related Products