Sam Samudio CD

$ 13.98

  • After Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs Folded in the Late ‘60s, Lead Singer and Front Man Domingo “Sam” Samudio Recorded This Collector’s Dream of a Solo Album in 1971 for Atlantic Records 

  • Produced by the Legendary Jerry Wexler and Tom Dowd 

  • Includes Such Hallowed Sidemen as Duane Allman, The Sweet Inspirations, The Memphis Horns, and The Dixie Flyers Led by Jim Dickinson 

  • A Little Hard Rock, a Little Tex-Mex, a Little Blues, and Always Rockin’ 

  • Won a Grammy for Samudio’s Hilarious, Stream-of- Consciousness Liner Notes, Reproduced Here 

  • Also Includes Additional Liner notes by Richie Unterberger 

After the late-‘60s collapse of Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs, the band’s front man and lead singer Domingo “Sam” Samudio signed a solo deal with Atlantic and recorded this 1971 slice of collector nirvana. Why nirvana? Well, aside from Sam’s estimable vocal and songwriting contributions, the album boasted contributions from, oh, about a half-dozen different flat-out legends, including producers Tom Dowd and Jerry Wexler and sidemen the Dixie Flyers (led by Jim Dickinson), the Memphis Horns, the Sweet Inspirations, and some session guitarist named Duane Allman! Sam’s born-to-be-wild pose on the front cover tips you off to the sound; this album updated the Pharoahs’ frat-boy garage raunch with a nod towards hard rock (“Relativity” and “Don’t Put Me On”), while also harkening back to his Tex-Mex (“Don’t Put Me On”) and blues (“Key to the Highway”) roots. Little wonder, then, that vinyl copies of this record—which makes its CD debut here—fetch a pretty penny when and if you can find it. The album also won a Grammy for Sam’s hilarious, stream-of-consciousness liner notes (“Thank the monkey”), which we’ve reproduced here along with new notes by Richie Unterberger. We’ve also added a bonus single side, Sam’s version of “Me and Bobby McGee” featuring Duane Allman on dobro--don’t miss this one!


  1.    Homework
  2.    Relativity
  3.    Lonely Avenue
  4.    I Know It’s Too Late/Starchild
  5.    Let’s Burn Down The Cornfield
  6.    Sweet Release
  7.    Key To The Highway
  8.    Don’t Put Me On
  9.    15º Capricorn Asc
  10.    Goin’ Upstairs

Related Products