Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

New York Community Choir CD

$ 10.98

THE NEW YORK COMMUNITY CHOIRMake Every Day Count (Expanded Edition). CD

The New York Community Choir (NYCC) Formed in the Late ‘60s and First Came into Prominence on Poet Nikki Giovanni’s Album The Truth Is on Its Way

The Title Track to Their 1978 Album Make Every Day Count Has Become an Enduring Anthem for Gospel and
 R&B Fans 

Arranged by Saturday Night Live Band Co-Leader Leon Pendarvis 

Features Top-Flight Session men Like Paul Shaffer, Will Lee, Steve Gadd and Richard Tee 

Expanded Edition Includes Two Bonus 12” Single Versions 

Liner Notes by Soul Music Records Founder David Nathan 

Remastered at Sony’s Battery Studios 

Formed in the early '70s as an offshoot of the popular, Grammy-nominated Isaac Douglas Singers, The New York Community Choir originally consisted of some one hundred members under the direction of Benny Diggs and included prominent writer Arthur Freeman. The Choir first came to national prominence in the U.S. in 1971 on a much-acclaimed recording by renowned poet Nikki Giovanni, The Truth Is On Its Way. Another offshoot of the choir, Revelation Movement (which included Diggs and Freeman) was formed to primarily do secular rather than gospel shows and morphed in 1974 into Revelation consisting of Diggs and Freeman along with Philip Ballou and Arnold McCuller. The quartet signed to RSO Records where they recorded one album. In 1977, The New York Community Choir signed with RCA Records: their self-titled debut LP included the dance hit, "Express Yourself".

Released in 1978, their follow-up set, Make Every Day Count (with a group name change to NYCC), was produced like its predecessor by RCA executive Warren Schatz, and included seven original songs along with a cover of I’ll Keep My Light in My Window, a tune originally recorded by the duo Caston & Majors for Motown (later also cut by Diana Ross & Marvin Gaye). The album boasted arrangements by Leon Pendarvis (the co-leader of the Saturday Night Live band) and featured such stellar New York session musicians as Paul Shaffer and Richard Tee on keyboards, Jeff Mironov and John Tropea on guitars, Errol Crusher Bennett on percussion, Will Lee on bass and Steve Gadd on drums.

The album s infectious title track became popular particularly in East Coast discos, and has remained a popular inspirational anthem among gospel and R&B music lovers. The original LP is making its worldwide CD debut with this release by Real Gone Music in association with Soul Music Records, and this Expanded Edition includes six-minute plus 12 single versions of Make Every Day Count and I ll Keep My Light in My Window, with liner notes by SoulMusic Records founder David Nathan and remastering at Sony s Battery Studios. Funky, soulful, spiritual!

1. Make Every Day Count

2. A Song Can Reach Your Heart

3. I'll Keep My Light in My Window

4. The World Is Waiting for a Change

5. Rejoice, Rejoice

6. Who Do You Say I Am

7. This Old Man

8. We Can Make It

Bonus Tracks

9. I'll Keep My Light in My Window (12 Single Version)

10. Make Every Day Count (12 Single Version)

Related Products