Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

New Christy Minstrels Ramblin CD

$ 24.98

  • Along with The Kingston Trio, The New Christy Minstrels Were the Most Popular Group of the Early ‘60s Folk Boom
  • 1963’s Ramblin’ Album Was Their Creative High Water Mark, and Stayed on the Charts for 77 Weeks
  • Expanded Edition Features the Hit “Green,Green” in Unreleased and Foreign-Language Versions
  • 13 Bonus Tracks in All Including Six Unreleased Highlighted by a Demo of “Last Farewell"
  • Newly Remastered in Vastly Improved Sound by Sean Brennan at Battery Studios in NYC
  • Liner Notes by New Christy Minstrels Expert Tom Pickles
  • Rare Photos 

Hey, folk music fans! Have we got a Real Gone treat for you! The New Christy Minstrels’ classic Ramblin’ album has long been considered that great group’s creative high water work. Released in July of 1963, the album instantly made the charts and stayed there for 77 weeks, earning founder Randy Sparks and his group their first Gold Record…and bringing fame and a little “Green, Green” to one Barry McGuire. Here it is again, in long-overdue, sonically superior remastered form – and now in an expanded edition loaded with rare material (including six unreleased tracks) related to the album! You’ll hear the creation of “Green, Green” – the group’s biggest hit – in unreleased versions that feature members Dolan Ellis, Jackie Miller, and Gayle Caldwell (later “Jackie and Gayle” of Shindig fame), with Barry McGuire on only the third verse. It’s a great arrangement, very different from the hit single…and a MUST HAVE for every Christy fan. Plus, you’ll hear the German and Spanish versions of the hit – released in the US for the first time and recorded just after (future Byrd) Gene Clark joined the group. PLUS…an unreleased “live” version recorded at Randy Sparks’ folk club, Ledbetter’s and a “gag” version with a solo by Randy himself (teasing his group). And, there’s more…you’ll hear the brilliant Nick Woods’ amazing solo of “Natural Man” – originally intended to be the follow up single to “Green, Green.” Those plans were set aside when Randy came up with a little number called “Saturday Night”…which had “hit” written all over it. And, it was! Both songs are here…along with “The Banjo” (the B-side of “Green, Green”), “Walk the Road”, an unreleased version of “The Drinking Gourd,” and – most rare of all -- a demo of “Last Farewell” (JFK’s favorite Christy song) with a pop arrangement featuring a terrific solo by Randy Sparks himself. It’s a great package for folkies everywhere – remastered by Sean Brennan at Battery Studios in New York, with detailed notes by Christy guru Tom Pickles that tell the story of Randy Sparks and his group at their absolute peak! So, c’mon! Let’s go Ramblin’!

1. Ramblin'
2. Mighty Mississippi
3. Hi Jolly
4. A Travelin' Man
5. Down the Ohio
6. The Drinkin' Gourd (The Muddy Road to Freedom)
7. Green, Green
8. Rovin' Gambler
9. Wagoner's Song (Land of the Sacramento)
10. My Dear Mary Anne
11. Ride, Ride, Ride
12. Last Farewell
13. Walk the Road
14. The Banjo
15. Green, Green
16. Green, Green
17. The Drinkin' Gourd
18. Grun, Grun
19. Natural Man
20. Verde, Verde
21. Saturday Night
22. Green, Green
23. The Far Side of the Hill
24. Last Farewell
25. Green, Green

Related Products