Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Laura Nyro More Than a New Discovery LP

$ 34.99 $ 43.99

No Hype sticker.

Seldom has the title of a debut album been more apt than the one that graced Laura Nyro's 1967 release, More Than a New Discovery. This was not the mere first foray of a budding talent. Instead, More Than a New Discovery introduced a fully-realized, remarkably mature (at the age of 19!) singer-songwriter whose singular fusion of pop, jazz, R&B, soul, Broadway, and folk sounds created some of the most beloved songs in modern popular music. Now, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are proud to reissue, for the first time ever on vinyl (and in homage to Laura's favorite color), More Than a New Discovery in a limited violet vinyl edition limited to 1250 copies. Which, ordinarily, would be news enough! But there's more to the story. First of all, More Than a New Discovery, originally released on Verve Folkways in 1967, premiered the songs that Barbra Streisand, Blood Sweat and Tears, and The 5th Dimension would all take up the charts, including 'Stoney End,' 'And When I Die,' 'Blowin' Away,' and perhaps the most famous song Nyro ever wrote, 'Wedding Bell Blues.' But both the Verve Forecast and, later, Columbia labels reissued this record as The First Songs with new artwork, a different song order and added reverb. This limited edition restores the original cover art and album sequence, and, even better, offers the incredibly rare, dedicated mono mix'according to Felix Cavaliere of The Rascals, Laura's preferred mode of audio reproduction' from the very first version of the album as remastered from the original tapes by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios, with lacquer cutting by Clint Holley at Well Made Music. And, we have added an insert featuring photos and notes by The Second Disc's Joe Marchese that place the record in context of Nyro's remarkable career. One of the most momentous vinyl reissues in many a moon!


1. Goodbye Joe
2. Billy’s Blues
3. And When I Die
4. Stoney End

5. Lazy Susan
6. Hands Off the Man


1. Wedding Bell Blues
2. Buy and Sell
3. He’s a Runner
4. Blowin’ Away
5. I Never Meant to Hurt You

6. California Shoeshine Boys

Related Products