Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Jackie DeShannon Stone Cold Soul CD

$ 13.98 $ 16.98

Autograph is SOLD OUT.

Author of Such Iconic Anthems as “What the World Needs Now Is Love” and “Put a Little Love in Your Heart,” Jackie DeShannon Is One of the Greatest Singer-Songwriters of Her Generation

After a Decade Spent at Liberty/Imperial Records, Jackie Was Wooed Away by Capitol Records in 1971

The Label First Sent Jackie to Memphis’ American Recording Studios to Record Sessions with Producer Chips Moman

Backed by a Crack Band of Bobby Emmons and Bobby Woods on Keyboards, Reggie Young on Electric Guitar, Mike Leach on Bass, Johnny Christopher on Acoustic Guitar, and Gene Crisman on Drums, She Recorded a Flavorful Mix That Embraced Her Southern Soul Roots Blended with Country, Gospel, and Pop

But Only Two Tracks from Those Memphis Sessions Were Released at the Time, Despite Powerhouse Versions of Such Songs as George Harrison’s “Isn’t It a Pity,” Van Morrison’s “And It Stoned Me,” Emitt Rhodes’ “Live till You Die,” the DeShannon Originals ““West Virginia Mine” and “Now That the Desert Is Blooming,” and More

DeShannon Then Returned to Hollywood to Record Her Songs Album, Co-Produced by DeShannon with Eric Malamud and John Palladino

Songs Featured Covers of Bob Dylan’s “Lay Lady Lay” (Retitled “Lay, Baby, Lay”) and Hoyt Axton’s “Ease Your Pain” Plus a Shimmering Trio of DeShannon Originals: “Salinas,” “Bad Water,” and a Remake of “West Virginia Mine.”

Atlantic Label Head Jerry Wexler Bought Out Jackie’s Capitol Contract Soon Thereafter, Leaving Most of Her Memphis Masters Untouched

Now, for the First Time, All of DeShannon’s Capitol Masters Have Been Gathered into One Collection

Stone Cold Soul—The Complete Capitol Recordings Presents All 25 Sides DeShannon Recorded for Capitol, Including the Songs Album and All of Her Memphis Material Featuring Five Previously Unreleased Tracks

Joe Marchese’s Liner Notes Are Drawn from an Exclusive Interview with Jackie DeShannon

Booklet Includes Stunning, Never-Before-Seen Photos of Jackie DeShannon

Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision

Essential Listening for Any DeShannon Fan or Roots-Rocker

After spending the rst full decade  of her recording career at Liberty/ Imperial Records, where she immortalized such iconic anthems as “What the World Needs Now Is Love” and “Put a Little Love in Your Heart,” Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Jackie DeShannon was wooed away to Capitol Records in 1971. Upon landing at her new label, the Kentucky-born DeShannon was dispatched to Memphis’ American Recording Studios, where, with producer Chips Moman and a crack band consisting of Bobby Emmons and Bobby Woods on keyboards, Reggie Young on electric guitar, Mike Leach on Bass, Johnny Christopher on acoustic guitar, and Gene Crisman on drums, she recorded a avorful mix that embraced her Southern soul roots blended with country, gospel, and pop. The wide-ranging repertoire included the DeShannon originals “West Virginia Mine” and “Now That the Desert Is Blooming” along with songs by George Harrison (“Isn’t It a Pity”), Van Morrison (“And It Stoned Me”), Carole King & Gerry Gof n (“Child of Mine”), Emitt Rhodes (“Live till You Die”), Arlo Guthrie (“Gabriel’s Mother’s Highway”), Spooner Oldham & Dan Penn (“Sweet Inspiration”), and others. But those tracks inexplicably remained in the vaults, leapfrogged by the tracks DeShannon cut at Capitol Studios upon returning to California that turned into her Songs album. In fact, of the Memphis tracks, only a single (“Stone Cold Soul”) and a lone track on Songs (“Show Me”) were released at the time. The rest of the Songs album, co-produced by DeShannon with Eric Malamud and John Palladino, featured covers of Bob Dylan’s “Lay Lady Lay” (retitled “Lay, Baby, Lay”) and Hoyt Axton’s “Ease Your Pain” plus a shimmering trio of DeShannon originals: “Salinas,” “Bad Water,” and a remake of “West Virginia Mine.”  DeShannon’s stay at Capitol proved to be short-lived; legendary producer Jerry Wexler bought out her contract to bring her to Atlantic Records, leaving most of Jackie’s Memphis masters unreleased. Some of those masters emerged as part of a long-out-of-print UK collection decades later, but now, for the rst time, all 25 of Jackie’s Capitol recordings are available on this Real Gone Music compilation. Stone Cold Soul—The Complete Capitol Recordings presents Jackie’s rare Memphis tracks including 5 previously unreleased titles along with her Songs album. The CD also offers a stunning selection of never-before-seen period photographs from her personal collection along with in-depth liner notes from Joe Marchese taken from an interview with Jackie. Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision, Stone Cold Soul offers essential listening for any Jackie DeShannon fan or vintage roots-rocker!

1. You Don't Miss Your Water (Til Your Well Runs Dry)
2. Stone Cold Soul
3. West Virginia Mine (Original Version)
4. Child of Mine
5. Live Till You Die
6. Makes You Beautiful
7. Seven Years from Yesterday
8. They Got You Boy
9. Isn't It a Pity
10. Sweet Inspiration
11. Johnny Joe from California
12. Now That the Desert Is Blooming
13. Sleepin' with Love
14. Gabriel's Mother's Highway
15. And It Stoned Me
16. Show Me
17. Keep Me Warm
18. Lay, Baby, Lay
19. Down by the Riverside
20. International
21. Sunny Days
22. Salinas
23. Bad Water
24. Ease Your Pain
25. West Virginia Mine (Version 2)

Related Products