Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Eddy Arnold Each Road I Take CD

$ 4.00 $ 13.98

  • With 147 Chart Hits to His Name, Eddy Arnold Is One of Country Music’s Largest Legends 

  • Each Road I Take—The Lee Hazlewood & ChetAtkins Sessions Captures Him in 1970, When His Career Was at a Crossroads 

  • Includes the Album Love and Guitars, the Last Record He Would Cut with Chet Atkins 

  • Also Includes the Only Album Arnold Cut with Famed Producer Lee Hazlewood (e.g. Nancy Sinatra), Standing Alone 

  • Both Albums Have Never Been on CD 

  • Love and Guitars Is a Largely Acoustic Record Featuring Guitar Work from Jerry Reed, Harold Bradley and Even Atkins Hmself

  • Standing Alone Features the Legendary Wrecking Crew 

  • Both Albums Offer Songs by a Remarkably Wide Range of Songwriters

  • Also Includes Four Rare Single Sides 

  • Features Two Unreleased Tracks from the Lee Hazlewood Sessions

  • 27 Tracks in All 

  • Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese with Added Photos

  • A Real Gone Music/The Second Disc Production 

The countrypolitan crooner Richard Edward Arnold – better known as Eddy Arnold – scored 147 U.S. chart hits between 1945 and 2008, sold over 85 million records, and earned inductions into the Country Music Hall of Fame and The Grand Ole Opry. Yet, in 1970, the superstar known as “The Tennessee Plowboy” found himself at a crossroads. That year, he released two remarkable albums ending one chapter in his career and beginning another. Love and Guitars would be his final full-length collaboration with Nashville-based producer and legendary guitar man Chet Atkins, with whom he had first worked in 1950. Standing Alone marked his first and only project with hip maverick Lee Hazlewood – a pairing which inspired some of the finest vocals Arnold ever committed to record. Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records’ Each Road I Take: The 1970 Lee Hazlewood & Chet Atkins Sessions boasts both of these seminal, never-before-reissued albums together with Arnold’s singles from the landmark year, as well as two previously unreleased tracks produced by cult hero Hazlewood. Love and Guitars departed from the usual lush sound of Arnold’s recordings, surrounding his burnished baritone with a cadre of Nashville’s top guitarists including Jerry Reed, Harold Bradley, Ray Edenton, and Atkins himself (who rarely played on Eddy’s records by that point), and tackling a dazzling array of material from Merle Haggard, John Denver, Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, Kris Kristofferson, and Henry Mancini in a raw, acoustic-based setting. Standing Alone then moved Eddy to Hollywood for his first session outside of Nashville in six years. He was joined by Hazlewood and the fabled Wrecking Crew for a contemporary-flavored set of strong, adult material by writers such as John Stewart, Steve Young, Ben Peters, and Mac Davis which blurred the lines between country, folk, and pop-rock. Four rare single sides including the Burt Bacharach/Hal David-penned “Ten Times Forever More” round out this first-time-on-CD collection. Each Road I Take features new liner notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese as well as fresh remastering by Mark Wilder. Its 27 tracks present two distinct roads taken by Eddy Arnold – both showcasing the resonant storyteller’s voice that turned The Tennessee Plowboy into a legend of popular music.

1. Soul Deep

2. A Man's Kind of Woman

3. With Pen in Hand

4. When the Wind Blows in Chicago

5. Just Enough to Start Me Dreamin'

6. I Just Can't Help Believin'

7. Leaving on a Jet Plane

8. Today I Started Loving You Again

9. Shadows of Her Mind

10. Mary in the Morning

11. I'll Give You Three Guesses

12. Living Under Pressure

13. A Man's Kind of Woman

14. July, You're a Woman

15. Each Road I Take

16. She Believes in Me

17. New World in the Morning

18. Where Love Has Died

19. Seven Bridges Road

20. Some Lonely Picker

21. All That Keeps Ya Goin'

22. Closest I Ever Came

23. My Way of Life

24. Gentle Is My Love (Unreleased)

25. How Do I Love Thee (Unreleased)

26. From Heaven to Heartache

27. Ten Times Forever more

Related Products