Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Debby Boone Midstream/Debby Boone CD

$ 14.98

Debby Boone: Midstream/Debby Boone CD

  • Having Released Debby Boone’s Smash Album You Light Up My Life for the First Time on CD, Real Gone Music Now Turns Its Attention to Her Other Four Warner Bros./Curb Albums, All of Which Are Making Their CD Debut

  • Released as a Pair of Twofers, Midstream/Debby Boone and Love Has No Reason/Savin’ It Up

  • Both Releases Come in Beautiful Digipaks with Booklets Boasting Rare Photos

  • Liner Notes by Joe Marchese Feature Exclusive Quotes from Debby Boone

  • Debby Worked with “You Light Up My Life” Writer Joe Brooks and Legendary Producer Brooks Arthur on Midstream

  • The 1978 Album Featured Such Standout Cuts as “I’d Rather Leave While I’m in Love” and the Hits “California” and “God Knows”

  • Brooks Arthur Was Solely Behind the Controls for 1979’s

    Debby Boone

  • Includes Two Hit Country Singles, “My Heart Has a Mind of Its Own” and “Breakin’ in a Brand New Broken Heart”

  • Also Features a Great Cover of the Miracles’ Flipside “Choosey Beggar” and the Beautiful “I’d Rather Be Alone”

  • Debby Then Went Country on 1980’s Love Has No Reason

  • Produced by Kenny Rogers’ Producer Larry Butler and

    Engineered by the Legendary Billy Sherrill

  • Features the #1 Country Single “Are You on the Road to Lovin’ Me Again” and the Hits “Free to Be Lonely Again” and “Take It Like a Woman”

  • Also Released in 1980 and Produced by Larry Butler, Savin’ It Up Notched Additional Hits with “Perfect Fool” and “It’ll Be Him”

  • Real Gone’s Twofer of Love Has No Reason/Savin’ It Up Also Includes Five Bonus Tracks

  • Features a Trio of Non-LP Sides Including the
    Country Hits “See You in September” and “Everybody’s Somebody’s Fool”

  • Also Includes a Pair of Unreleased Sides

  • A Pair of Treasure Troves for Debby Devotees

On the strength of #1 hit “You Light Up My Life,” one would think that for her 1978 follow-up Midstream Debby Boone would have been immediately able to exert artistic control but the process was gradual. Debby discovered that “Light” writer/ producer Joe Brooks was contractually guaranteed to participate in her sophomore solo album. However, Debby was ready to expand her musical range into a more mature, sophisticated direction. Accordingly, halfway through the sessions, Debby changed producers from Joe Brooks to Brooks Arthur (which prompted the album’s title, changing from one “Brooks” to another “Midstream” - get it?). Though Midstream failed to match the gargantuan success of You Light Up My Life, it demonstrated that Debby had grown up by spotlighting such great performances as “God Knows” (a country/adult contemporary hit) and “I’d Rather Leave While I’m in Love.” Also including the pop/AC charter “California,” Midstream remains a fan favorite and a fine record in its own right. Fortunately, Brooks Arthur was firmly behind the controls for Debby’s next record, her self-titled outing from 1979. With a crack band behind her, and unerring choice of material, like the Miracles flipside “Choosey Beggar” and the beautiful “I’d Rather Be Alone,” Debby Boone is probably the most overlooked and important album in her early pop career canon; though it does include two hit country singles, “My Heart Has a Mind of Its Own” and “Breakin’ in a Brand New Broken Heart,” lack of promotion doomed its sales prospects even as her artistry reached new heights. A pair of CD debuts for both original albums on this 23-track twofer…and, just like our reissue of You Light Up My Life, we are releasing this in a beautiful digipak featuring liner notes by Joe Marchese peppered with quotes from Debby herself!

  1. God Knows
  2. What Becomes of My World
  3. Another Goodbye
  4. Don't You Love Me Anymore
  5. Oh No, Not My Baby
  6. I'd Rather Leave While I'm in Love
  7. When You're Loved
  8. California
  9. When It's Over
  10. Come Share My Love
  11. It Was Such a Good Day
  12. If I Ever See You Again
  13. Girl Don't Come
  14. Jamie
  15. The Worst That Could Happen
  16. With All of My Love
  17. Theme from The Promise (I'll Never Say Goodbye)
  18. Choosey Beggar
  19. Breakin' in a Brand New Broken Heart
  20. Meet Me on the Dance Floor
  21. My Heart Has a Mind of Its Own
  22. You Took My Heart by Surprise
  23. I'd Rather Be Alone

Related Products