Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Bobby Darin Another Song on My Mind--The Motown Years 2CD SET

$ 39.98

  • Bobby Darin Is One of the All-Time Great Pop Vocalists, and Perhaps the Most Versatile Male Vocalist Ever

  • In the Early ‘70s, Darin Signed with Berry Gordy’s Renowned Motown Records, Where He Reinvented Himself Again, Tackling Hitsville-Style R&B and Soul Along with Original Songs and Contemporary Hits

  • Darin Released Just One Studio Album and Several Singles on Motown Before His Untimely Death in December 1973; Virtually None of This Material Has Been Released on Compact Disc

  • Another Song on My Mind—The Motown Years Includes the 1972 Bobby Darin Album, Which Has Never Been Released on CD Anywhere in the World

  • Also Includes the Original, Never-on-CD Mix of Darin 1936-1973, the Posthumous Collection Produced by Bob Crewe, Plus Every One of Darin’s Motown Singles and the Remixed Tracks from the Short-Lived CD Reissue of Darin 1936-1973

  • 38 Tracks in All

  • Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese

  • Remastered by Mike Milcher at SonicVision

  • A Rousing Celebration of Bobby Darin’s 80th Birthday

  • A Real Gone Music/The Second Disc Release 

  • Bobby Darin was so much more than just Mack the Knife. In just 37 years, the singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, producer and entrepreneur raced against the clock to conquer records, film, and television as he successfully transitioned from rock-and-roll teen idol to tuxedoed swinger and then to denim-clad folk troubadour. At the dawn of the 1970s, and still battling the chronic heart problems that had plagued him since youth, the superstar artist signed with Berry Gordy s renowned Motown Records. At Motown, the versatile artist reinvented himself yet again, recording some of the most vibrant and vital music of his remarkable career. He tackled Hitsville, USA-style R&B and soul alongside original songs and personal re-interpretations of favorites by the day s top pop and rock songwriters including Randy Newman, Cat Stevens, Paul Williams, and Bob Dylan. Darin released just one studio album and a number of singles at Motown before his untimely death in December 1973; the following year, producer Bob Crewe assembled a posthumous LP to celebrate his friend s life and music. Yet, as the decades passed, Darin s artistically wide-ranging Motown recordings were all but forgotten. Now, just two months before what would have been the singer s 80th birthday on May 14, 2016, Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records proudly present the first-ever retrospective of the final chapter of the legendary Bobby Darin s musical life. The 2-CD Another Song on My Mind: The Motown Years brings together the self-titled 1972 Bobby Darin album never released on CD anywhere in the world with Crewe s original, never-on-CD mix of the posthumous Darin 1936-1973. If that s not enough, this definitive, freshly-remastered anthology also adds every one of Bobby s Motown singles as well as the remixed tracks from the short-lived CD reissue of Darin 1936-1973! The Second Disc s Joe Marchese supplies the new liner notes for this landmark release, with remastering by Mike Milchner at SonicVision. Another Song on My Mind: The Motown Years is certain to prove one of 2016 s most significant archival collections for fans of Motown, R&B, pop, soul, and classic vocals, and celebrates the singer s 80th birthday in style. Look out, old Bobby is back

    Disc: 1

      1. Sail Away 
      2. I ve Already Stayed Too Long 
      3. Something in Her Love 
      4. Who Turned the World Around 
      5. Shipmates in Cheyenne 
      6. Let It Be Me 
      7. Hard-Headed Woman 
      8. Average People 
      9. I Used to Think It Was Easy 
      10. My First Night Alone Without You 
      11. Melodie (Original Single Version) 
      12. Someday We ll Be Together (Original Single Version)
      13. Simple Song of Freedom (Original Single Version) 
      14. I ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Original Single Version) 
      15. Sail Away (Original Single Version) 
      16. Hard-Headed Woman (Original Single Version) 
      17. Average People (Original Single Version) 
      18. Something in Her Love (Original Single Version) 

    Disc: 2

      1. I Won t Last a Day Without You 
      2. Wonderin Where It s Gonna End 
      3. Sail Away 
      4. Another Song on My Mind 
      5. Happy (Love Theme from Lady Sings the Blues) 
      6. Blue Monday 
      7. Don t Think Twice, It s All Right 
      8. The Letter 
      9. If I Were a Carpenter 
      10. Moritat (Mack the Knife) 
      11. Happy (Love Theme from Lady Sings the Blues) (Original Single Version) 
      12. Simple Song of Freedom (Alternate Mix Single Version) 
      13. I ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Alternate Mix Single Version)
      14. I Won t Last a Day Without You (Alternate CD Version) 
      15. Wonderin Where It s Gonna End (Alternate CD Version) 
      16. Happy (Love Theme from Lady Sings the Blues) (Alternate CD Version) 
      17. Blue Monday (Alternate CD Version) 
      18. Don t Think Twice, It s All Right (Alternate CD Version) 
      19. Melodie (Stereo Single Version) 
      20. Someday We ll Be Together (Stereo Single Version)

Related Products