Welcome to Real Gone Music. View our New Releases!

Cheap Trick The Epic Archive Vol. 1 (1975-1979) CD

$ 14.99

  • Wielding a Signature Blend of Classic Rock, Power Pop, and Glam, Rockford, Illinois’ Cheap Trick Belong in the First Rank of American Rock ’N’ Roll Bands

  • Original Drummer Bun E. Carlos Has Long Been the Group’s Resident Archivist

  • Now, Real Gone Music Presents an 18-Track CD of Cheap Trick Rarities, Many Provided by Bun E. Carlos Himself

  • Bun E. Comments on Each Track in the Liner Notes, as told to Ken Sharp

  • Includes Three Demos Cut at Ardent Studios Prior to Signing a Record Deal

  • Also Includes Four Early Tracks Produced by Jack Douglas, the Instrumental
    “Oh Boy” B-Side, and Two 1977 Live Performances from the Whisky

  • Features Two Alternate Takes from the Heaven Tonight Sessions

  • Five Rare Live Recordings from Cheap Trick’s Legendary Japanese Tours

  • The “No Strings ”Version of “Dream Police” Rounds Out the Set

  • Includes Rare Photos by Robert Alford

  • Remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in New York

  • A Worthy Addition to August Cheap Trick Discography 

  • If a group’s made up of two genuine rock star types, a Huntz Hall lookalike with a guitar fetish, and a guy who looks like an accountant, which one d’ya think would keep track of its recording archive? Don’t worry, it’s not a “trick” question—it is indeed the bespectacled Bun E. Carlos, the drummer for the original line-up of Cheap Trick, who has not only commented on every song (as told to Ken Sharp) but provided much of the source material for this collection of rarities from the band’s early days, 18 tracks that reconfirm that the singular blend of classic rock, power pop, and glam—and inspired visual style—wielded by this outfit of Rockford, Illinois places them among the first rank of American rock ‘n’ roll bands. First up are three 1975 demos (of “Come On, Come On,” “Southern Girls,” and “Taxman, Mr. Thief”) they cut at Ardent Studios in 1975 prior to signing a record deal, followed by early, 1976-1977 studio takes (produced by Jack Douglas) of “You’re All Talk” and “I Want You to Want Me,” an outtake, “Lookout,” from their debut record, and an alternate (and nasty) version of “I Dig Go-Go Girls.” On deck are an instrumental version of “Oh Boy” (the B-side to “I Want You to Want Me”) and live versions of “You’re All Talk” and “Goodnight” from a 1977 stand at the Whisky, and a pair of alternate takes from the Heaven Tonight album, “Stiff Competition” and “Surrender.” Also inside are five rarities from the band’s famed Japanese tours, including the single version of “Ain’t That a Shame,” the promo-only release “Lookout,” and three tracks from the out-of-print Budokan II album, “Stiff Competition,” “How Are You,” and “On Top of the World.” The “no strings” version of “Dream Police” rounds out the collection in fine style. Compiled by producer Tim Smith, remastered by Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in New York, and featuring photos by Robert Alford, The Epic Archive Vol. 1 (1975-1979) takes its place as a key release in the august Cheap Trick discography

    1.   Come On, Come On (Ardent Studios Demo)

    2.   Southern Girls (Ardent Studios Demo

    3.   Taxman, Mr. Thief (Ardent Studios Demo

    4.   You're All Talk (Early Studio Version)    

    5.   I Want You to Want Me (Early Studio Version)    

    6.   Lookout (Studio Version)

    7.   I Dig Go-Go Girls (Outtake)

    8.   Oh Boy (Instrumental Version)       

    9.   You're All Talk (Live at The Whiskey)

    10.  Goodnight (Live at The Whiskey)

    11.  Stiff Competition (Alternate Version)

    12.  Surrender (Alternate Version)        

    13.  Ain't That a Shame (Live Single Edit)

    14.  Lookout (previously unreleased alternate version)

    15.  Dream Police (No Strings Version)

    16.  Stiff Competition (Live at Budokan)

    17.  How Are You (Live at Budokan)

    18.  Top of the World (Live at Budokan

  • Related Products